theeverydayshopper

The Everydayshopper, shopper at large!

Moving on to Bikram Yoga September 13, 2011

Filed under: Blog — theeverydayshopper @ 9:25 pm

Something miraculous happened the first week of August. A Groupon came through my email for a new Bikram Yoga studio opening 5 mins away from home. Ive always wanted to try yoga and my husband’s friend is a Bikram’s instruction so he’s gone once before. As I researched this new studio, P (the yoga instructor friend) was teaching at this studio. I am the most insecure person on earth so trying something so new, I needed my husband to tag along.

My first experience was pretty good. I really enjoyed and didn’t mind the heat. I loved that I was sweating all the crap out of my since giving birth to baby. Second experience was still pretty good. Third experience wasn’t good, I didn’t drink enough water so I started going numb and my ears started ringing halfway through. My fourth experience was something to remember.

My fourth experience at Bikram’s was almost life changing. The night before I scarfed down a huge malaysian buffet dinner. I decided Sunday morning I felt energized to go for a session. Everything was ok until again.. halfway through the session. I think we were at the camel position where she quoted this would be the most challenging position and that any emotional garbage anybody was holding on to, that this would be the position to release these emotional. Well I started tearing up really bad but of course nobody notices cause everybody is covered in sweat anyways. At final savasana I balled my eyes out without anybody noticing. I quickly packed up and got into the car(no time to shower cause I need to breastfeed baby as soon I get home). Well… lets just say my entire malaysian buffet dinner came out including the litre of water I had before and during my session. I then drove home and completely broke down with my husband. I puked even more and cried even more. Then I knew I could not lie to myself, I could not lie to bikram yoga.

My groupon ran out a week afterwards. Last week, I decided to take advantage of their back to school special and buy a 40 class pass. Then I bought a bunch of stink-free shirts and tanks from Lululemon to motivate me more.

Bikramyoga is my weekly therapy session and facial session. Its 90 mins for myself and sometimes new mommies like me need that 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

